Home > News, Photography > I got Snowe!

I got Snowe!

Nov. 19, 2009-Maine Senator Olympia Snowe is mobbed by reporters after announcing she would not support the Senate's version of the health care bill. Last Saturday, the Senate voted to bring the bill to the floor and to bar filibusters.

I’ve been trying to get photos of Olympia Snowe since I got my press pass in September. It’s been months. Her phone line is always busy. I stake out one doorway and she sneaks out another. In the labyrinthine Capitol complex, Senators have tons of ways to evade the press, if they want. Last Thursday I was on the Hill, desperate for lunch after a day of shooting, and there she was—except I didn’t even know it was her at first. All I could see was a huddle of reporters outside the door to the Senate floor. I peeked through the tangle of arms and voice recorders, and couldn’t believe it—the coveted Snowe! I grabbed my camera and started snapping away. Here’s what I got.

Nov. 19, 2009-Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) is mobbed by reporters outside the Senate floor after she announced she would not support the Senate's version of the health care bill.

Nov. 19, 2009-Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) is mobbed by reporters outside the Senate floor after she announced she would not support the Senate's version of the health care bill.

Nov. 19, 2009-Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-MA) is mobbed by reporters outside the Senate floor after announcing she would not support the Senate's version of the healthcare bill.

Nov. 19, 2009- Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) is mobbed by reporters after announcing she will not support the Senate's version of the healthcare bill. This Saturday, the Senate will vote on bringing the bill to the floor.

Nov. 19, 2009- Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME) is mobbed by reporters after announcing she will not support the Senate's version of the healthcare bill. This Saturday, the Senate will vote on bringing the bill to the floor.

Categories: News, Photography
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

