Home > Photography > Photo of the Day

Photo of the Day

Feb. 27-Ice on the ground in Boulder, Colorado.

I made it! Out of the dingy, snow-clogged D.C. streets. Out of a sunless January and February that felt like a dark closet. Out of the soul-crushing traffic that shaped my zoo-eat-climbing gym schedule.

I slingshotted west, across a landscape studded with oversized crosses and fast food. Through towns like Youngsford, Ohio, whose inhabitants seem content to never smile again. I had everything I needed–food, my dog, my dog’s food–and no reason to stop, so I didn’t. I listened to Three Cups of Tea (amazing), half of Eat, Pray, Love (eh…) and eventually made it to Boulder.

Boulder is a love-hate zone for a lot of people. But wherever I might rate myself on that scale after a month or so, I’m always psyched to arrive. And this morning I took this photo.

Categories: Photography
  1. February 27, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Fine ice abstract – glad you escaped the city. Off doing a new project?

  2. March 1, 2010 at 10:13 am

    sick shot! so many more to come in the sunny desert spring.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

