Home > Photography, Travel > All Roads Lead West and South

All Roads Lead West and South

March 6, 2010-A place to buy bolts in Grand Junction, Colorado.

Yesterday I made the 10 hour trip from Boulder to St. George, alone—a pattern that’s increasingly normal. In the past week and a half, I’ve spent about 35 solo hours in the car. And you know what? I kinda like it! I guess I’m not that hard to amuse. I don’t need constant conversation, or music, or even NPR, an obsession that’s recently become as necessary as morning coffee. Audio books definitely help, but even in silence I’m pretty happy just cruising the countryside, taking it all in.  When I notice quirky, photo-worthy sights, it’s usually miles before I can find a place to turn around, so I often don’t.  But this trip I made the effort to stop, turn around, and retrace my tracks at least once. I snapped a few photos, but they just don’t capture the loneliness of these places. Anyways, here are a few pics from the journey.

March 6, 2010-Adult video store with a sweet Cadillac parked out front in Grand Junction, Colorado.

March 6, 2010-World's largest American flag? Grand Junction, Colorado.

March 6, 2010-Near Capitol Reef, Utah.

March 6, 2010-Irie eats snow in Utah.

Categories: Photography, Travel
  1. March 10, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    Irie on a roadtrip, aw….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

